Flag

An official website of the United States government

2024 Holiday Calendar
27 MINUTE READ
January 1, 2024

The Embassy and Consulates will be closed to the public in observance of the following United States and Australian holidays in 2024:

Holiday

Country

Observed by

Date

New Year’s Day

US/Australia

All Posts

Monday, January 1, 2024

Birthday of Martin Luther King Jr.

US

All Posts

Monday, January 15, 2024

Australia Day

Australia

All Posts

Friday, January 26, 2024

Washington’s Birthday

US

All Posts

Monday, February 19, 2024

Labour Day

Australia

Perth Only

Monday, March 4, 2024

Canberra Day

Australia

Canberra Only

Monday, March 11, 2024

Labour Day

Australia

Melbourne Only

Monday, March 11, 2024

Good Friday

Australia

All Posts

Friday, March 29, 2024

Easter Saturday*

Australia

All Posts

Saturday, March 30, 2024

Easter Sunday*

Australia

All Posts

Sunday, March 31, 2024

Easter Monday

Australia

All Posts

Monday, April 1, 2024

ANZAC Day

Australia

All Posts

Thursday, April 25, 2024

Memorial Day

US

All Posts

Monday, May 27, 2024

Reconciliation Day

Australia

Canberra Only

Monday, May 27, 2024

Western Australia Day

Australia

Perth Only

Monday, June 3, 2024

King’s Birthday

Australia

Canberra, Sydney, and Melbourne Only

Monday, June 10, 2024

Juneteenth National Independence Day

US

All Posts

Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Independence Day

US

All Posts

Thursday, July 4, 2024

Civic Holiday

Australia

Sydney Only

Monday, August 5, 2024

Labor Day

US

All Posts

Monday, September 2, 2024

King’s Birthday

Australia

Perth Only

Monday, September 23, 2024

AFL Grand Final Day

Australia

Melbourne Only

TBD

Labour Day

Australia

Canberra and Sydney Only

Monday, October 7, 2024

Columbus Day

US

All Posts

Monday, October 14, 2024

Melbourne Cup

Australia

All Posts

Tuesday, November 5, 2024

Veterans Day

US

All Posts

Monday, November 11, 2024

Thanksgiving

US

All Posts

Thursday, November 28, 2024

Christmas Day

US/Australia

All Posts

Wednesday, December 25, 2024

Boxing Day

Australia

All Posts

Thursday, December 26, 2024

New Year’s Day

US/Australia

All Posts

Wednesday, January 1, 2025

*Indicates that this is recognized as a public holiday in Australia and should be treated as such for payroll and time and attendance purposes even though no staff regularly work on these days.